10:37 AM

Collegiate DECA members shine at state conference

Group DECA photo -- STATE 2019

Several Waukesha County Technical College Collegiate DECA members brought home awards and honors from the Collegiate DECA State Conference Feb. 21-24 at Lake Lawn Resort in Delavan, Wis.

WCTC’s team, along with students from other colleges within the Wisconsin Technical College System and University of Wisconsin System, participated in this professional conference and competed in testing, prepared events, case studies and management institutes. Members also attended an executive mentorship dinner, a networking dinner and participated in the election of the new state officer team.

WCTC Collegiate DECA earned the following specialty awards and recognitions:

  • Diamond Trophy, WCTC Chapter -- For displaying overall leadership in four areas: Career Understanding, Civic Consciousness, Social Intelligence and Leadership Development.


  • Professional Development Council Student of the Year, Carly Reichert (first place) and Ashley Denruiter (second place) – For outstanding work and accomplishments.


  • Civic Consciousness Award, WCTC Chapter (second place) -- For raising money for the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention and the WCTC Foundation.


  • Appointment of new Wisconsin Collegiate DECA president, Ashley Denruiter -- WCTC Collegiate DECA president will take on this statewide role, and plan and lead the state conference in 2020; she will serve as state president for one year.

Competitive events by category, recipients and national qualifiers include:

  • Advertising Campaign: Jordan Davidson, Emery Borgwardt -- 1st Place

  • Hotel and Lodging: Nick Zimmerman – 2nd Place and Top Exam; Rebekah Banaszak – 3rd Place and Top Exam; Tina Rotim -- Top Exam and Finalist

  • Marketing Management: Casandra Skaife -- 3rd Place and Top Exam; Eladio Basquez -- Top Exam and Finalist

  • Retail Management: Sarah Nasser, Erich Vlach - Top Exams and Finalists

  • Marketing Communication: Ashley Denruiter, Carly Reichert - 3rd Place

  • Sports and Entertainment Marketing: Emery Borgwardt, Jordan Davidson - 2nd Place

  • National Qualifiers

    • Meg Andrew – Management Institute

    • Marcela Pina - Fashion Merchandising

    • Mitchell Denruiter - Hotel and Lodging

    • Mathew Sellnow - Advertising Campaign

Additionally, five students -- Emery Borgwardt, Jordan Davidson, Ashley Denruiter, Carly Reichert andCasandra Skaife – received scholarships that will help offset registration costs for the national competition, and WCTC Marketing grad and current Collegiate DECA vice president Rebekah Banaszak earned approval to seek a national Collegiate DECA executive position.

The WCTC students in April will head to Orlando, Fla., for the national competition.

DECA prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs for careers in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe.